The San Francisco-based company Gelor is currently working on an animal-free gelatin that could serve as a suitable alternative for consumers who do not eat meat. While many people have no problem eating traditional gelatin, there is a growing demand for an animal-free substitute among consumers who adhere to specialty diets such as vegan, vegetarian, halal and kosher. This new gelatin alternative could provide a cost-effective option for companies looking to make their products more accessible for a wider variety of consumers.
The animal-free gelatin is made by programming microbes to produce collagen through fermentation. After the collagen has been produced, the product is purified and the resulting byproduct is then collected.
While the process is still in the early stages, this vegan-friendly gelatin could be a game-changing ingredient for the food industry.
Vegan-Friendly Gelatin Alternatives
More Stats +/-
Halal Confectionery Stores
Naturally Flavored Gummies
Fruity Gelatin Shooters
Caviar Pearl Cocktails
Free 2018 Report & eBook
Get the top 100 trends happening right NOW -- plus a FREE copy of our award-winning book.
Our Research Methodology
This article is one of 350,000 experiments. We use crowd filtering, big data and AI to identify insights.