Snapchat Memories is a new feature being introduced. The mobile messaging app was designed to allow users to send temporary photos, message, and videos. After a certain amount of time, these messages would disappear.
Even though the Snaps occurred in the past, users can edit, combine and share their Memories. Unlike regular camera galleries, users can search for photos using key words which reduces the need for having to scan through the entire collection. A frame will be placed around shared Memories to indicate to viewers that the Snap is from the past. There is also a privacy feature that will be added called 'My Eyes Only'. This section will be placed within 'My Memories' and will only allow access with a password. Bare in mind, the password is unrecoverable once you forget it.
Snapchat plans to selectively roll out the new feature over the next month.