The popular cycling and running app Strava has added a safety 'Beacon' feature to let contacts know where users are training.
Strava users can use the 'Beacon' feature to share a live workout with up to three contacts. The feature will let contacts monitor where users are running or cycling, which is a great safety feature if training early in the morning, later at night, or not in particularly safe areas. Users send a unique URL to their contacts, so non Strava users can access the link to track the user's training. The 'Beacon' feature will show contacts if the user has been paused for a long period of time, if the user has low battery, or if the user has wandered out of cell coverage. The safety feature is only available for Strava premium subscribers.
The 'Beacon' feature is a great safety feature for anyone who trains alone or in off areas of the day.