Program Finalized to Kick-Start Solar Energy Fields in Six States

 - Nov 7, 2012
References: &
Six western states in the U.S. are well on their way to creating more solar energy fields after the US Department of Interior recently rolled out their newest program. Several cites in states like Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico and Utah will be equipped with solar panel fields. In all, 17 solar energy zones (SEZ) on 285,000 acres across these states are now designated for solar energy use. If all projects are fully built, they will produce 23,700 megawatts of solar energy, which is enough to power 7 million homes.

This comes as part of President Obama’s "all of the above" approach to energy sources and is the continuation of efforts that began in 2009. Since then, the Department of Interior forged 33 renewable energy projects; these include 18 solar facilities, 7 wind farms and 8 geothermal plants, not including these newest additions.