Underwater Ice Hockey World Championship

 - Feb 28, 2007
References: ananova
This unusual sport took place at the lake of Weissensee in southern Austria. It is the first underwater ice hockey world championship. There were 8 international teams from Austria, the Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. The divers competed under 30 centimetres of ice in two-degree Celsius water. The competition was extremely tough because the players had to compete without oxygen tank. That means the players has to resurface very often to get the air. The final match, Finland defeated Austria with the score 7:4.