Google's Trusted Contacts App Lets Users Share Their Locations

 - Dec 6, 2016
References: blog.google & theverge
Google's new Trusted Contacts app is a way for people to achieve both valuable piece of mind and real-world safety in an emergency situation. The app lets users connect their smartphones to their loved ones, letting them know whether that user needs help in a potential emergency.

With the Trusted Contacts app, users assign "trusted" status to various contacts in their phones, such as parents, siblings, or close friends. Those people will be able to see vague indicators of safety at any time. For instance, if someone has spent the day at work or home, they are likely not in any danger -- the Trusted Contacts app will thus label the user as safe (without disclosing their actual location.) If the person is potentially in danger, they can share their precise location and the contacts can then alert the authorities.