Art Chairs to Inspire Your Impious Activities

 - Jan 25, 2009
References: copenheroes & lauritz
The Danish designer Thomas von Staffeldt, aka Johnny Slogan, has created a series of redesigns of the classic Arne Jacobsen chair 'Seven.' The series is called Sagligia, after the seven deadly sins; each chair is an artistic representation of a deadly sin.

The sinful chairs have been put on auction; if the buyer allows it, the chairs will be exhibited at the Trapholt Museum in March 2009. The price of the chairs as a collection was esteemed to be worth £2,500 and was bought for only £1,100. The full amount will go to the yearly Danish charity collection helping poor families in Africa.

To refresh your memory, the seven deadly sins are:
1. Lust
2. Gluttony
3. Greed
4. Sloth
5. Wrath
6. Envy
7. Pride

Each chair has gone through an artistic reworking and was sold yesterday on an auction hosted by These chairs are definitely not meant to be sat upon--now that would be a sin!