Circle of Animals Zodiac Heads by Ai Weiwei Depict All 12 Mystic Creatures

 - Mar 19, 2011
References: aiweiwei & designboom
'Circle of Animals / Zodiac Heads' by Chinese artist Ai Weiwei is a reinterpretation of the bronze statues from Yuanming Yuan that depict the 12 legendary creatures of the Chinese zodiac.

In the traditional Chinese zodiac, years occur in a 12-year cycle, and each year is represented by one of the animals. 'Circle of Animals / Zodiac Heads' attempts to restore the balance of the cycle. The old statues were pillaged and ransacked during the middle of the 19th century, leaving only seven remaining statues.

In 'Circle of Animals / Zodiac Heads' you will see the heads of a boar, dog, dragon, goat, horse, monkey, ox, rabbit, rat, rooster, snake and tiger all forged masterfully.

Do you know what your Chinese zodiac sign is?

Photo Credits: designboom, aiweiwei