The Facebook A Look Back Feature is a Memorial for Dead Users

By: Meghan Young - May 6, 2015
References: facebook & digitaltrends
Social media platforms have been addressing what happens to people's digital lives when they pass away for the last few years and the Facebook A Look Back feature is a particularly touching one. It allows people to compile a montage of moments as users of the social network so friends and family can 'look back' at all the fond memories. Since people tend to share the best moments, it will be a happy walk down memory lane.

Chris Price and Alex DiSclafani, from the Facebook Community Operations team, explain that the Facebook A Look Back feature "will allow people to see memorialized profiles in a manner consistent with the deceased person’s expectations of privacy. We are respecting the choices a person made in life while giving their extended community of family and friends ongoing visibility to the same content they could always see."