The Fuwa

By: lourdes sanchez bayas - Published: May 12, 2008 • References:
The 2008 Beijing Olympics have been enveloped in unending political controversy so it's been tough for some sports fans to get excited. Putting those aspects aside, I really love the five Olympic mascots collectively called the Fuwa.

“The cute Fuwa group consists of five members according to the traditional five elements: Beibei, Jingjing, Huanhuan, Yingying, and Nini,' says Ahboon. “Each of the five names is designed to look like a plausible name for a small child, while also achieving a more complex task: when the first syllable of each name is put together, it sounds nearly identical to the phrase '北京欢迎你', Běijīng huānyíng nǐ which means 'Beijing welcomes you.'” Pretty clever!

I really like these pretty, innocent-looking mascots, and can't wait to see them at the Beijing games, which are now less than three months away! Stats for 2008 Olympic Mascots Trending: Older & Mild
Research: 5,294 clicks in 419 w
Interest: 4 minutes
Concept: 2008 Olympic Mascots
Related: 66 examples / 51 photos
Segment: Neutral, 18-35
Comparison Set: 24 similar articles, including: vr computer desktops, supercharged coupe cars, and speedy productivity suites.